The Trystan Trilogy

The Trystan Trilogy is a retelling of the Tristan and Isolde/Iseult legend, relocated to its true home, Scotland. The three parts of the Trilogy are The Wolf in WinterThe Swan in Summer and The Serpent in Spring. The Wolf in Winter was published in 2021. The Swan in Summer and The Serpent in Spring will follow in 2022 and 2023 respectively. (Note that the cover art for The Swan in Summer and The Serpent in Spring are works in progress.)

How do you protect a hero?

Corwynal, son of the King of Lothian, dreams of reputation as a warrior. But when his half-brother, Trystan, is born on The Night of Thresholds, he’s forced to rein in his ambitions to become the child’s guardian and mentor.

For seventeen years, he’s kept Trystan safe in Lothian. But now the British Kingdoms have declared war on the powerful Caledonian Confederacy, and there will be no safety for anyone. Especially a young man determined to win fame as a hero.

As war spreads throughout the Lands between the Walls, Corwynal must emerge from the shadows and reclaim his lost dreams if he’s to guard the boy he’s given up his future to defend. But how much more will he be willing to sacrifice for the boy with the secret he can never reveal?

A spell-binding story of second chances, of love and letting go. An epic journey into the heart of a man riven by conflict, set amidst the warring cultures of dark-age Scotland.

First in The Trystan Trilogy, The Wolf in Winter is a thrilling retelling of the classic Arthurian story of Tristan and Isolde.

Read more   about The Wolf in Winter

How can you love a liar?

Seventeen years ago, Brangianne, the Dark Swan of Dalriada, sister to Feargus, King of Dalriada, had her future stolen by raiders from the neighbouring Kingdom of Galloway.

Now, once again, Galloway has ruined the life she’s painstakingly rebuilt. Defeat in a misguided war, a crippling tribute demand, and the death of Dalriada’s champion, The Morholt, have put Feargus in a difficult position. If he’s to survive, he’ll have to sacrifice the people closest to him – his sister Brangianne and his daughter, Yseult.

But Brangianne, forced to make a choice between two unpalatable alternatives, chooses instead to escape to her old lands of Carnadail, where, in her stolen summer of freedom, she meets three shipwrecked Britons – and so sets in train the tragedy that is the story of Trystan and Yseult.

But tragedy lies in wait for Brangianne herself when she’s drawn to the half-Caledonian stranger from the sea, a man calling himself Talorc, a man with beasts on his skin and secrets in his heart . .

Read more  about The Swan in Summer

One day you’ll have to watch the woman you love marry someone else

Corwynal’s prediction comes true when Trystan is forced to watch the girl he loves, Yseult of Dalriada, marry his uncle, Marc, King of Galloway. Trystan isn’t willing to give her up completely, however, and Corwynal has to stand by, helpless, as the lovers endanger everything he cares about. But when they risk their own lives he has to act. He helps them escape to the one place they’ll be safe, the one place he doesn’t want to go – Atholl in Caledonia.

There he’ll not only have to face the judgement of the Druid Council for a crime he committed as a boy, but the long-planned revenge of Ferdiad, Fili of Dalriada, for a crime he doesn’t remember committing at all.

Corwynal will have to decide where he belongs and what and who he loves the most, unaware that his decision will lead to the final tragedy that is the love story of Trystan and Yseult

Read more  about The Serpent in Spring.